Rocket Fuel

My parents were here over the weekend and one of their favorite thing to do with the boys is to launch baking soda and vinegar powered rockets. It is AMAZING how high those babies can fly! We certainly get the attention of ALL the little boys (and the dads) at the park when we are there with our rockets. The last time we did this we ran out of our rocket fuel baking soda and vinegar long before the boys were ready to stop the launches. This week my husband ran out to the store for groceries and came back with 4 boxes of baking soda and 2 GALLONS of Vinegar! Needless to say that amount of fuel outlasted the rocket. They launched that rocket until the fins would fly off in the air, and the nose cone was busted off. Now, I am left with over a gallon of vinegar and countless boxes of baking soda. The baking soda I know we will use, but I have been at a loss as to what to do with all the vinegar, until I was re-reading She’s Thrifty’s post about cleaning with vinegar! I love the idea that you can use vinegar as a fabric softener. What do you think ? Will it work? Or will it make my clothes stink smell like easter eggs? I was thinking about adding a few drops of essential oils to the laundry as well. Let me know have you used vinegar as a natural fabric softener? Comment below and let me know if it worked for you? If it works, I can’t wait to start using up my gallons of vinegar I have sitting in the pantry.

3 thoughts on “Rocket Fuel

  1. I use vinegar all the time in the washer…I just put it in the softner section. My clothes do not smell like easter eggs:) I think it helps keep them fresher and cleaner. I also use it for cleaning windows and stainless steel.

    1. Oh, thaks so much for letting me know! I almost used it last night but chickend out at the last minute! Have you ever had any problems with it ruining things that have elastic in them? I have heard that is possible?? Of course on the internet you can read that anything is possible!

  2. Not that I’ve noticed. Most of my kid’s clothes have elastic waists and they are all fine. I wash all of my clothes with it, even ones with spandex/elastic, and I even wash my nicer clothes with it…I’ve never noticed a problem.

Leave a Reply

